Second Part of the 9th Ordinary Custodial Chapter

The Conventual Franciscans in the Philippines celebrated the second part and the conclusion of its 9th Ordinary Custodial Chapter on May 2-6 at St. Joseph Spirituality Center in Tagaytay City. Friar Emmanuel Giva, the newly elected Provincial Custos presided over the celebration of the Chapter. Friar Benedict Baek, the Assistant General for the Federation of Asian Minor Conventual (FAMC) attended the Chapter, representing the Minister General.

The second part of the Custodial Chapter was spent in prayer and discussion on the motions which were approved that will serve as a guide for the friars as they continue with their mission to the local Church in the Philippines for the next four years and beyond.

Newly elected guardians
Newly elected Guardians, L-R: Fra Joachim Paz, OFMConv. (St. Anthony Friary), Fra Gerardo Lofranco, OFMConv. (San Agustin Friary), Fra Mariel Santos, OFMConv. (St. Maximilian Friary)

During the Chapter, elections of formators, vocation director, and various commission heads were also done. The Custody likewise launched its new official website that is now accessible through At the end of the Custodial Chapter, the friars received their letter of obedience indicating their new assignment and/or appointment for the next four years, effective May 6, 2022.

Newly elected guardians
Newly elected Guardians, L-R: Fra Linus Bacayan, OFMConv. (Immaculata Friary), Fra Lorenzo Avelino, OFMConv. (St. Joseph Friary)

Currently, the Custody has five canonically established friaries: St. Maximilian Friary (Parañaque), Immaculata Friary (Novaliches), St. Joseph Friary (Tagaytay), St. Anthony Friary (Dolores, Eastern Samar), and San Agustin Friary (Parañaque), and one filial house attached to St. Maximilian Friary in Binangonan, Rizal.

We have three formation houses: Immaculata Formation House (Postulancy) in Novaliches, St. Joseph Formation House (Novitiate) in Tagaytay, and St. Maximilian Seminary (Juniorate) in Parañaque.

The Custody administers four parishes: San Agustin Parish (Diocese of Parañaque), St. Maximilian Parish (Diocese of Novaliches), St. Francis of Assisi Parish (Diocese of Antipolo), and St. John the Baptist Parish (Archdiocese of Nueva Segovia).

We run Joseph Spirituality Center, a retreat house in Tagaytay, and Klinika ni San Antonio ng Padua, a medical mission clinic in Novaliches.

Friars are expected to transfer to their new friary and/or assignment on or before May 23, 2022.

Fra Bernard Anuta, OFMConv.
Popular Posts
Naples Province
Where do you want to see us more?*